one should get news about events from around the world or should not

Whether a person chooses to be informed about and influenced by news from around the world depend to a great extent on the lens through which one is looking at their social responsibilities. While many prefer to be aware of every event even on the global scale, and subsequently, react to it, others might favor being kept in the dark until necessary. I agree with the latter, and I believe it is not essential to stay informed and updated on happening around the universe if it is not infuential on our own lives. I will demonstrate further as follows.

Firstly, although it is an appreciated trait to be caring and concerned about everyone and everywhere, it can be significantly burdening and exhausting on a person's mind. In my opinion, seeking the truth and awareness at any cost can only be as necessary as it is practical. Thus, obtaining information that is not effective in my own life, and especially bad news that I cannot do anything about, serves no purpose other than hurting my mental health. Additionally, as I believe in the tremendous effects of a peaceful mind on a person's everyday proper functioning, I would not jeopridize my current stable state and good performance, just to attain insignificant information. For instance, I struggle very hard to maintain my calm and happy mood all day long because I have a previous depression background. However, whenever I visit my parents, as they are watching global news on television all day, and the news is mostly composed of saddening events rather than joyful ones, I am always very anxious and on edge when I return home from there.

Secondly, obtaining the wide spectrum of information about occurrences from around the world can be very time-consuming and confusing. In today's busy and competitive world, many people are concentrating all their energy and push themselves beyond their limits to achieve higher degrees in educational and professional paths. As I am aimig to do the same, I believe focusing my time and energy on the news that is not influential on my everyday life is a waste of resources. I would rather spend that time and energy on learning a new skill, a new foreign language, exercise, or even do some leisure activities to enhance my productivity later. For instance, referring to my parent againg, I always encourage them to practice English instead of watching the news as I think it will be more benefitial for them any time in their life.

In conclusion, I desire to maintain my mental health and also concentrate on activities that contribute to my progress educationally and professionally. Therefore, I do not agree that one should gain awareness about everything that is going on around the world.