In order to adapt to the life in university and succeed, if you are a freshman, which method do you think is better:

attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus, and it will begin before you have the classes.

Meeting regularly at your first year with a student in your major field who has entered the university for several years.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus there is an increasing number of youngsters are entitled to receive further education in colleges. However, a myriad of college students are confronted with the problem that how can them better adapt to the life in university. The answers toward this question vary widely. Some individuals reckon that youngster are supposed to have regular meetings with a student in their major who has entered the university for several years. Nevertheless, I stand on the opposite side. I suggest that attending a one-week orientation or introduction program is a leading choice and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, attending an orientation or introduction program enables me to amass unbiased information. In an orientation program, not only a bunch of senior students are involved but also scholars, administrators in the university or the department participate. With regard to the administrators, I can gather trustworthy information about procedures, for instance, how to apply for exchange opportunities, how to fulfill the requirements of graduation and so on. As for scholars, based on their lectures in the orientation, I am capable of having a glimpse of the major that will accompany me for years. In addition, by listening to professors’ intriguing stories, I am likely to draw inspiration from their experience so as to formulate my own plan in accordance with their glamorous experience. On the contrary, having regular meetings with only one senior student in the first year cannot do the trick. For one thing, senior students, without copious experience, are likely to render impractical suggestions. For another, owing to their limitation of perspectives, what them offer to us is comprised of their prejudices, which cannot be applied in us. Therefore, by attending an orientation or introduction program, I can amass authentic information from more authoritative information resources.

What’s more, on the basis of information accumulated in orientation or introduction program, I can better schedule my whole college life. It widely acknowledged that the academic performance in the first year lays a solid foundation for not only the college years but also for our future, like graduate applications or finding employment. Hence, we ought to make full preparation before we initiate the first year in university. Under this circumstance, with the life guidance offered in the orientation program, a thorough comprehension of university life and study can be erected in my mindset, based on which, I can initiate to make preparation for the coming semester, like previewing textbooks utilized in compulsory courses, participating some activities to help me gain competency in future job landing and so on. Compared to the introduction program, the regular meetings with senior students fail to address problems on time. Without rudimentary schedule in the beginning of a semester, we are likely to be enslaved by the effect of procrastination, which consequently leads to the ramification that we just get passing scores in final exams.

Admittedly, meeting with senior students does have its merits. For instance, accompanied by senior students, freshmen can alleviate their sense of inferiority or loneliness caused by the separation from their families. Nevertheless, this problems can be also grappled with regular meeting with psychology professionals, thus the strengths of regular meeting with senior students seem lackluster.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, in order to adapt to the life in the university and achieve success, the preferred option is to get involved in a one-week orientation or introduction program. For one thing, unprejudiced information can be accumulated from authoritative resources. For another, it enables us to make full use of the first year in university by preparing in advance.