In order to make freshman adapt to campus life as soon as possible, which way will you recommend?

Attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus, and it will begin before you have the classes.

Meeting regularly at your first year with a student in your major field who has entered the university for several years.

Everything is difficult at the beginning. People will work and stay in distinct places in different life stages, so they will always be unfamiliar with a new environment; the same is true with the graduation of high school students. From an advanced senior to a new freshman, the is the inevitable event what have been experienced or will be experienced by most of the people. Therefore, for helping these freshman quickly adapt to campus life, college provide two plans. First is the one-week orientation meeting, second is to let an elder student who has the same major with the freshman to regularly meet with them. Some people would prefer the former because it will have an systematical introduction to the whole campus, which students can know well of the campus; However, to obtain a better grade and solve more problems, I prefer to meet with juniors or seniors.

According to the word “in your major field”, they can provide more help on students’ study and even homework. One of the main purposes to get into college is to obtain a better education; therefore, have a better grade. The suitable study method and excellent recognization of one’s major will be the most important thing to achieve the above goal. Having a regular meeting with the elder students learning in the same major with you can give freshman more advice and solve more problems on study; Moreover, they have already studied in their major several years, which means they have their own study method helping them to have a better and efficient study rate. By learning these helpful experiences of them, freshman may easily find their own way to study in that major. As the result, freshman easily solve their problem of study and will develop their own favorable study method at the same time.

Not merely on study, but the elder students can also help freshman to solve some other conditional problems and quickly adapt the campus environment and life. In campus, study is the primary mission to student but not the only thing they need to adapt. Living, hobbies, personal relationship, and social activities; all these things are staple elements of college life. Because the elders have already lived and studied in the campus for several years, they are hardly to be unfamiliar with all these things. Their self experiences of the campus will be more helpful and vivid to the freshman than the orientation. Additionally, for instance, when a freshman interrupt their professor, what should they do, how should they apologize to their professor, and what is the professor’s characteristic that students can do something to avoid the next loathsome behavior? The meeting orientation will never tell freshman what to do under this situations. In summary, elders’ advice is more helpful because they can tell freshman how to solve the different problem depend on different person and situations.

Although people will mention that the orientation meeting is more official and most of the school and college now are still keeping this process, it will never give the useful advise for freshman to adapt the school life. The introduction is same but people’s experience will be different, and this is the reason why the second choice is more helpful, because the seniors have already experienced most of the thing and life in campus, so they can give suggestions that is more efficient and valid on different situations. To sum up, because the experience is more important and helpful than an introduction, the senior student meeting is better.