Parents give their children weekly money to buy whatever they want. Some people think this can cause bad habits and ideas about money in children. Others think the opposite. What's your opinion?

In this day and age, parents in China tend to spend almost all their savings on children, hoping that they can outcompete peers by obtaining more outstanding skills, let alone weekly money. However, some experts worry that children will spoiled by parents and lose the ability to their living. As far as I am concerned, I contend that parents can give their children limited weekly money, which can not only cultivate their habits of money management but also relieve their burden.

Initially, weekly money from parents enables children to concentrate on academic development without worrying how to sustain their daily lives. As we can see, schools in China put increasingly emphasize on study, so students are always bombard with a large amount of tasks such as assignments, presentations and exams. Therefore, they have no time for extracurricular activities or even entertainments. Without weekly money, they will lead a considerably miserable life, striving to find a balance between preparing school works and doing part-time jobs. Take myself as example, I chose 12 courses last semester, joined an internship program and participated in 3 mathematics competitions. Since I have been longing for being accepted by the postgraduate program of my dream school, I got mountains of things to deal with. Had it not been my parents’ support, I would not have been fight my way out during these though days.

In addition, someone may assert that weekly money causes bad habits and ideas about money in children, stating that children will take the money for granted and spend it without restriction. Also, they suggest that forcing children to do part-time jobs helps to enhance their abilities of living by themselves and relieve parents’ burden. However, plausible as it sounds, the idea dos not hold water. Parents can grab opportunities to teach their children how to manage their money efficiently. What’s more, they can share opinions on how to allocate asset among several financial markets such as stock market, bond market and monetary market. On the one hand, after raising children’s consciousness of money management, they are less likely to spend money at will but calculate precisely before buying their favourable things. On the other hand, children can apply for student loans instead of wasting precious time on repetitive and simple tasks, since they can not afford to pay the price for falling behind others academically.

In conclusion, considering all the factors above, I firmly insist that parents offer weekly money to children. Only in this way can children get to know practical skills of money management and ensure their academic performance.