In the past people ate food that was better for their health than they do today. 4

It is an undeniable fact that the quality of the food we eat plays a crucial role in our lives. Having proper nutrition is a must for being healthy and owning a favorable life. There are many people who believe that in the past, what people consumed as food was healthier than what we eat these days. Personally, I believe that these days people eat healthier food than before. I feel this way mainly is routed in the science advancement, detecting and preventing diseases from contaminated food has become much easier. Moreover, technology of food preservation has been progressing and spreading increasingly. I will attempt to address the most discernible reasons in the ensuing lines.

The first outstanding point which deserves some words here is that rapid advances in medical sciences has empowered human kind to detect improper food products and prevent their consumption. Otherwise, various types of diseases which are caused by unhealthy foods in the past would yet prevalent but are now understood and controlled. For example, one time, my grandfather told me about a disaster in his village which had been caused from so called “Malta fever”. He said that more than half of the village’s population became sick and nobody knew neither the reason for their sickness nor how to cure them. He said that many died during a few years, and After years, researchers found out that they had gotten the Malta fever because of infected dairies. Nowadays, milk and dairies that we buy from store are all checked for such diseases. Thus, the chance of getting such diseases like Malt fever is almost zero. This shows how scientific improvements have enabled human beings to access healthy food.

Second important reason worth mentioning is that the technology of preserving food for a long time has enhanced dramatically. Put differently, today we can save our food for months without being worried about it going rotten. For example, a hundred years ago, having to use traditional methods for storing and conserving their food, people had no access to such a thing as freezer. As an example, they used salt to preserve meat for a long time, which increased the risk of consuming it after some days today, such appliances used at home to preserve fresh meat for months are freezers. Hence, understanding better methods and having access to more advanced instruments, today we can preserve food with lower risk for a longer time.

To sum up, progressing in detecting and preventing food-related diseases and food preservation methods, we are able to access more healthy food. Indeed, the result of this healthy food is apparent in the number of deaths from consumption of unhealthy food around the world, which has decreased dramatically over the recent decades.