People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation and increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Allan Bloom once said, “Education is the movement from darkness to light.”

There is no debate about the fact that whether people choose to go to college or university, the basic purpose is always the same that is education. Even if I highlight the saying of Allan Bloom about education, it leads to several meanings. He used the word darkness which itself is a very broad term. It not only indicates lack of literacy but also a mind which is not capable enough to understand the true meanings of life. According to me, other than education, a person may also comply of his personal preferences in case he decides to continue college and even university after that.

First and most important reason why students choose to go to a college or university is to let him qualified up to a level where he/she can get their desirable job. Especiallyin modern times it’s been completely clarified to students that theymust possess requisite degrees/ license to apply for a certain designation. The job industry is becoming more and more particular about hiring their employees as they need the right person who is educated enough to be eligible for that particular job position. There is no doubt about the importance that if only a person who is educated and trained enough for a job is an absolute choice for it. For example, I had to apply for my pharmacy license and I was already working for my exam to get qualified. Still, when I decided to do a technician’s job during my license process just for my bread and butter, I couldn’t get one. The reason was that even if I am a pharmacist back home and even though I’m studying for States license, I do need to get a technician license for that particular job.

Secondly, in a world of competition and a society which is going through progressive development of technology and science, nobody can take risk to be a leftover. Speaking in terms of technology, colleges and universities are definitely the right place to seek modern world education and connection to latest literacy in regards of computers. I know that there are different online courses available that can help students to be a part of their higher education. Still, university and colleges have their own importance. For example, two of my cousins decided to go for a basic course of 8 months in the field of informational technology. One decided to take it online as the other took admission in a university. When they were done with their courses, the one who completed his course from the university got his job easily and earlier than the other one.

It strongly proves that today’s student is aware of the fact that they cannot survive financially nor socially until they are a part of a good educational institute neither can’t walk along with the modern world without understanding the value of higher education. Academic institutes still stand strong and evidently prove its worth in the life of a modern day human.