People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s world, education plays an important role in individual’s life. Apart from food, clothing & shelter, education also form a basic need for any individuals. In any country there has been significant growth in literacy rate than a decade ago. So choosing universities or college, one should be very careful and should have profound understanding of the course to opt. However, there are various reasons for which people attend college or university such as career preparation, to increase knowledge, to pursue their dream company etc. While some people feel that people attend college to gain profound knowledge of the field which he/she is interested, most are of the opinion that people join college to get high pay jobs after completion of the course through career fair. I am of the opinion that knowledge is more important than career but the current generation does not believe in it and joins college with the aim of achieving high pay jobs.

The chief reason for my view is that people run after money through this university career programs. Also some company do require some level of education to be eligible for the position in company. This mandates every individuals to join university to get a degree with an average passing grade. However, this indirectly affects his/her knowledge in-order to just get a passing certificate. For example, IIT’s in India are popular for giving students high pay jobs from Multinational Companies. This results in increase number of applicants in IIT’s every year. Finally, it is indeed a harsh fact that people attend college just to get their degree.

Another reason for my view is that some college do provide internship opportunity in their vacations. However there are two aspect for this.

First for people who aims to get high pay jobs, would be benefited because internship adds extra value to professional knowledge and thus, helps in achieving target company. The second aspect is for the people who genuinely wants to increase their domain knowledge or expertise, this internship platform will surely benefits them. For instance, an engineering college in Mumbai, India provides compulsory internship program after third year of course. Thus , I believe that internships adds value to student’s life into entering their dream company.

For all the reasons state above, I therefore, concludes that unlike in 1990’s where people often attend college to understand the depth of their domain and become expertise in it. And now the situation is reverse. I also believe that colleges or universities should focus more on practical knowledge so that people will gain practical knowledge from their courses independent of their reasons why they attend college.