People attend college or university for many reasons ( for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge ). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Young adults are always concerned about their life and seeking for opportunities to improve their status. One way to do so is going to colleges and universities. In my opinion, people attend universities for varies reasons, such as career preparation, and new experiences, which I will explain more in the following essay.

First of all, people attend universities to either find a job or improve their position in the current jobs. By focusing on today’s employment requirements, readily you can find university degree as a necessary feature of a job seeker that an employer looks for. Although some people claim that universities have just provided certificates, used to gratify parents or attach to a wall, I believe you can obtain considerable knowledge and experience due to practical modern education systems. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I was working as a sales executive in shipping company when I attend the university. During those two years of graduated study, I had an undeniable progress in my job, reaching all the targets and even beyond them. Hadn’t I learned marketing courses in university; I would have been the same guy with the same results.

In addition to career preparation, people go to a university to experience unique situation, that they can’t find anywhere else. On the one hand, you can meet students from different cities with distinct cultures, and challenge your beliefs by communicating with them; on the other hand, you have possibility to find friends with the same prospective and make this relationship closer and closer. My own personal history is proof of this. I met my wife in the Consumer Behavior class in the first year of studying. We recognized that we have many things in common and became friend because of similarities in our notions. This relationship had elongated since two years after graduation, that we decided to get married. So that I can’t deny this especial experience given by university to me.

In conclusion, I believe that attending universities meets two significant needs of individuals. First, it induces career preparation, and second, it opens a door to new experiences.