People learn things better from those at their own level--such as fellow students or co-workers--from those at a higher level, such as teachers and supervisors.

Reasonable people always say that learning is a process and we can learn a wide variety of topics such as science, business, law and so on and so forth. Since learning things is a broad term, let's assume that the definition of learning in this case is to absorb knowledge in former topics mentioned. In this circumstance, I disagree to the extent that people learn things better from those with similar lever than from those at a higher level. There are three key points on why learning from teachers and supervisors are much advantageous than learning from fellow students and co-workers.

First and foremost, people with a higher level undoubtedly have more experince than us in dealing with problems. Take, for example, if someone is a new worker in a petrochemical industry. In order to understand the process of producing fertilizer, the worker will need training and assistance from supervisor. If he merely learns from inexperienced worker, then the chance for him to make mistakes will be higher since he doesn't know clearly his job responsibility and the industry process which is very complex.

Second, the information we get from teachers and supervisors is also more credible because they have dealt with such a specialized background for a long time. For example, students who study chemistry for the first time often feel confused with the high complexity of solving organic chemistry problems. However, by asking questions to teachers, they would get more guidance and find those questions easier.

Last but least, nowadays, life becomes more competitive and people sometimes don't want to share their knowledge one another. Being individualistic, they fight for awards in work place, strive for gold medal in science competitions and so on and so forth. As a result, it's more problematic to learn from people with similar level because those greedy people only focus on developing themselves. Those people are afraid than others would be better than themselves, thus causing learning things from those at similar level become difficult.

To reiterate, I strongly believe that people at a higher level, including but not limited to teachers and supervisors, make us much easier to absorb knowledge because they have more experience and credible knowledge. On the other hand, people at similar level usually don't want to share their knowledge and focus on enhancing their capabilities.