People in many countries do not wear their traditional costume. Some argue that they would forget their history and tradition. Do you agree or disagree?

Traditional costume, both national and regional, is universally recognised as an integral element of every single culture. Despite its importance to a culture and ethnicity, it is now less frequently worn by people, at a time when Western formal and informal clothes are rife. Below are a number of facts that suggest the role of traditional costumes in protecting ethnicity and identity.

Wearing traditional costumes, first of all, reminds people of many distinct characteristics of their culture. How people perceive their traditional costume shows the extent to which they are willing to respect and retain their cultural heritage. In Vietnam, for instance, female office workers are generally required to wear Ao Dai, a traditional dress, as a custom being handed down from generation to generation. It is a national symbol, giving millions of Vietnamese a sense of ethnic identity, wherever they are. Besides, it represents cultural values of Vietnam and shows the perceived position of females in a Vietnamese society. Despite the success of Ao Dai, it is a rare example in today's world, where most of the traditional costumes have been marginalised by Western-style business suits. People see national costume only in theatre, film and TV.

Another point to support the importance of traditional costume is their presence in many social settings. Traditional costumes are required on many occasions, either formal or informal. Generally, they come in two forms: one for everyday occasions, the other for festivals and formal wear. Both have cultural meanings. For example, in many societies, a considerable number of traditional costumes evolved specifically for the wedding ceremony, and the wedding couple, as well as guests, are expected to wear traditional clothes, a symbol of eternity and solemnity. Traditional dresses in most cases differ in styles and vary according to circumstances. For example, in China, ceremonial clothing tends to be dark while lighter-coloured clothing is worn mainly by the common people for everyday life and around the house use. As the culture is very often reflected in the way of life of a society, the role of traditional costumes in a culture is undisputed.

Traditional costumes are therefore, worthy of people's concern and should be preserved; however, it does not necessarily mean that one should wear traditional costumes all the time. People wear clothing in general for functional reasons. Traditional costumes are of cultural and social importance but might not suit every circumstance. For example, exercise clothes are needed when people participate in physical exercise and play sports. Western-style suits are used more broadly on formal occasions where people of different cultural backgrounds gather for serious issues, such as business. Dressing in a standard manner is a demonstration of respect, the key to mutual trust.

As shown above, the costume, as a distinctive style of dress of a particular people in a particular country, should be distinguished from the wardrobes people are wearing every day in ordinary settings. Failing to maintain the unique characteristics of traditional costume of a country will surely cause destruction on the integrity of a culture.