In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the population of developed countries have grown elder or lived longer, more old people are looked after in the aged care homes to service them properly. However, There has been a matter of conflict whether families should spend on the holding expenses in these place or government. In the following, some aspects of the views are taken into account.

It is true that families are in the first priority to pay the care expenses or even look after their old parents. Undoubtedly, parents make an effort to obtain/afford/ all the children's expenses from the infancy to the young. In fact, parents dominantly devote most of the life and time to their children to grow up and get independent. Thus , children are responsible for returning their parents favors when they no longer work or do their daily routine activities./ daily routines /

Otherwise, governments should support the aged group people, especially by regard to this fact that the families cannot cover all the ordinary costs. In regard to the productivity and contribution of the elderly in the young period, governments ought to /should/ pay the care expenses in returns. It is coupled with the fact that people usually pay a tax which is the obligatory part of living cost in the most developed countries. therefore, governments are expected to invest a portion of the money in the aged care houses or related expenses. Another argument is that the amount of money paid for the insurances in the young ages should be used to cover the future plights such as aging diseases and care expenses.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments that old parents be surely supported by their family; however, government also should take charge of this duty because of paying tax and collaboration in the younger ages.