In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, facilities are being offered to take care for the aged and the British government is helping their families with the expenses. There are medical attendants in charge to make sure that the old people are being looked after properly. The writer thinks that both the government and the family should pay for this care and this essay will discuss the reasons behind it.

As part of the country's revenue from state taxes, there should be funds allotted for older people and their needs. These individuals have already served their community and their country as a whole and would wish to be repaid through kind gestures from the society. For the last decade, Singapore has been providing free homes and monthly retirement bonuses to their citizens over 60 years old. As a result, they would have enough money to support both their medications and hospital bills.

On the other note, relatives also needs to take part in the costs of putting old persons in a care facility. Family members are still responsible for them regardless if they are aged and is also a way of repaying them for all of their sacrifices. In an article published by New York Times, 70% of the elderly who are in the custody of their children are happier and are proven to live for years more than those in home care.

Therefore I conclude that both relatives and the government should aid the necessities of old people. Everyone should make them feel comfortable, contented and joyous in the remaining days alive.