People think that increasing the use of computers and mobiles has a negative effect on young people's writing and reading skill. Do you agree or disagree?

The modern world has brought us new significant technologies which have had a considerable effect on our society, two of which are computers and cell phones. There is a controversial hotly-debate surround these devices in which opinions are divided as to whether mobiles and screens have hurt youngsters' reading and writing skills or not. Personally, it is my firm conviction that their positive effects on the young generation's skill of writing and reading outweigh negative effects. stating in the ensuing paragraphs, I will elaborate on two concrete reasons to support my standpoint.

The first worthwhile mentioning reason to champion my stance is that computers serve us with providing such information which gives us a hand to improve our skill in writing. To put it in the other words, before the invention of these electronic devices, it was impossible to have immediate access to such sources that help us with writing through connecting the internet. My personal experience of writing my personal statement is an apt clarification on this point. Two years ago, I started to apply for a prestigious university in the US in which submitting some requirements were required, one of which was a personal statement that demanded a high level of writing skill. At first, I had no idea but, having my laptop connected to the internet, I searched for its criteria and samples to have a wider sight. Consequently, I managed to complete my personal statement much more precisely and efficiently. Had I never used my laptop, I would not have come up with a great personal statement, hence, not applying.

The second vivid point to indorse my outlook is those smart electronic devices as they have become a separable part of the modern era, their crucial role in enhancing the rate of reading books is a solid fact. To be more specific, smartphones have created a golden opportunity to read e-books everywhere at any available time particularly for youngsters because they are active users of cell phones. Having my first smartphone is a compelling example to further illustration this. I always have been a big fan of reading books with different genres, however, carrying on books was a big concern of mine. Five years before now, I received a smartphone as a present for my eighteen birthday from my brother with a large number of e-books stored on it, I, thereby, was capable of reading my favorite book on my cell phone without having to hold thick books in my hands while reading or carrying them with myself. As a result, I could read far more books than the time I did not have a smartphone.

To wrap up what has been discussed, I profoundly believe that cell phones and computers have positive impacts on the young generation to improve their both writing and reading skills. This is because computers are helping with providing easier access to sources that enrich writing skills. Besides, through smartphones reading has become more convenient due to being capable of reading in any spare time that youngsters are willing to.