People who cannot accept the criticism from others will not be successful at working in a group

In my opinion, people who cannot accept the criticism cannot succeed in a group indeed.

To begin with, coworkers’ criticisms are their suggestions which can help people see the disadvantages of themselves clearly and improve themselves. In this way, the criticisms from partners seem so significant that we cannot refuse them. For example, inventions of the great inventor Edison were all likely to be finished in his middle ages. Edison did not make any invention when he was an old man. The reason is after inventing so many significant inventions for human beings, Edison had become a miracle; then he became so arrogant that he changed his modest character and refused any criticism or even suggestion from his colleagues. As a result, he could not be inspired and his team could not create anything which could change the history of human beings.

Furthermore, refusing collaborators’ criticisms may give them a feeling that the person they criticized does not accept their opinion or even hate them, and then the gap between the person and his coworkers will widen; the friendship or even mutual trust will break. For instance, the ex-monitor of my class failed to continue to be the class monitor just because she could not accept her classmates’ criticism. Last year, in order to make the last day of the semester meaningful and enjoyable for everyone, the school held a competition of “the most gorgeous decorated classroom”. The class monitor really spent several weeks to prepare for the competition; however, her idea was criticized by most of the class.

We all suggested her to ask the students who did well in art for help. Because her hard work was abolished, she turned to be so angry at us that she did not care about the activity any more. At last, my class was the last in the grade. According to this event, nobody voted her anymore in the next election of the class monitor.

Thus I believe that people who cannot accept the criticism cannot succeed in a group.