A person should never make an important decision alone.

Decisions made on an important issue can sometimes prone to a turning point in our lives. While some people prefer taking important decisions alone, a vast majority of people believe such decisions must be made in consultation with others. I personally think to seek help from others to make important decisions because of three main rationales that I can elaborate upon hereunder.

To begin with, very often, many of us may not have the required knowledge or experience in some areas where we are supposed to make decisions. This is where people with the required expertise in the concerned area come to play. These people would be able to share their knowledge and experience acquired to guide us for taking appropriate decisions. Seeking various opinions is much common in medical fields. My classmate's life is a compelling example of this situation. She was diagnosed with colorectal cancer from a famous hospital. She and her parents were devastated due to the results and the doctor suggested her start chemotherapies as early as possible. Nevertheless, a lot of her other relatives insisted them to consult another doctor and hospital for confirming the diagnosis. They accepted their opinions and did the same and cumulatively those doctors suggested that this cancer is curable with oral medications with no need for chemotherapy. Thus, a collaborative decision saved my friend from the side effects of chemotherapy, money, and her life.

Next, seeking help from others to solve issues is better than solving alone. Sometimes if we have any problem with anybody, a third individual who can hear both views and can suggest a decision, is much easier and valuable. To illustrate, this is common in school children when teachers interrupt in their fights. A teacher can hear both views and can solve the problem successfully. This is highly advantageous to either group.

Finally, if we make a decision alone we cannot blame others, moreover, we alone will be responsible for the situation. If a mother took a decision relating to her child, she alone will be responsible for any malpractice by her child. In contrast, if parents took decisions together the blame is shared and they can support each other.

However, if an individual takes a decision by themselves have some benefits. Too many different opinions can blur or interrupt a good decision-making process.

In the big picture, I still think that a person should never make important decisions alone due to the above-mentioned facts.