The phrase “Never, never give up” means to keep trying and never stop working for your goals. Do you agree or disagree with the statement. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the expression “Never, never give up”. I believe that a person should make all the efforts to achieve his goal even if he feels defeated. However, one should rethink or modify his goals if his actions harm his peers or his objective has become obsolete in the ‘new’ world. I shall discus my opinion in the subsequent paragraphs.

As a toddler, we try to walk and fail many times and sometimes even hurt ourselves. We take a few steps and fall but continue to make our best efforts to reach the nearest support. Parents’ help motivates the child to try repeatedly, but the success only comes when the child tries to towards this goal. What would have happened if toddlers-selves had stopped trying to walk? We would not have been able to walk for a long time or even our whole lives and probably regretted in the future.

Even history gives us accounts of people who frequently faced obstacles but did not let these obstacles stop them from achieving their goal. Thomas Edison, for instance, was expelled from his school because his teacher believed that he was unfit to get education. Later in his life, when he was working to make the electric light, he again faced many obstacles. His fellow scientists believed that such fate was impossible. Nevertheless, Edison did not let their discouragement affect him and he worked hard to make the bulb. After two years of hard work, Edison was successful.

However, pursuing a goal relentlessly and failing every time is a waste of precious time and energy. A person can utilize all that energy in a different field in a gainful manner. Working towards a goal with an old mindset is also never a good option. A person must modify his mindset and redefine his objective with the changing time. Hitler’s goals are perhaps the best example of a mission based on old mentality that ultimately caused destruction. ‘German and pure Aryan superiority’ was the goal of a powerful man with the ‘never give up’ attitude. No amount of advises from his generals could force Hitler to revise his goals. He incessantly worked towards his goal, ignoring the destruction and the deaths of millions it was causing.

On the other hand, the story of Ashoka shows that changing one’s goals after seeing its aftermath is beneficial. Ashoka wanted to become the ruler of the world. To achieve his goal, he initiated a war against the Kalinga kingdom. He won the war, but the destruction it caused forced Ashoka to revisit his goals. It made him change his path completely and from wanting to be the ‘greatest warrior king’, he became a messenger of peace.

A goal may or may not stay relevant forever. The ‘never, never give up’ approach is true provide the goal seeker has enough understanding of his goals and revisits his goals after taking clues from the circumstances. When these goals cannot be carved in the stones, ‘never, never give up’ holds no meaning.