Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them

It is hard to deny that playing computers games has no practical help for children, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the idea that children should not be allowed to playing them. However, such a statement suffers both logical and factual fallacies. As far as the technological development and efficiency orientation nowadays are concerned, I firmly hold the opinion that children should not be fully prohibited to playing computer games.

First and foremost, the development of our society today largely depends on technologies applied in computers and other electronic devices, and it is obvious that people are exposed to different kinds of application of technologies on a daily basis. For instance, we wake up by the alarm set in our smartphones, then we use software in office to help us complete multiple tasks at work. Meanwhile, maybe we even order food online and finish the payment online. There are just a few, and much more can be explored further. Not to mention that we can not avoid picking up the skill of operating a computer once we step on the path of career.

Furthermore, the fact that learning how to use and operate the computer at a young age can efficiently help a person develop interest in it, and it indicates it is definitely important to have children get used to dealing something by using computers. Therefore, if we prohibit children from using or even approaching it, they will not be able to have the chance of exploring the computer or the Internet, which limits the development of their knowledge of the computer. Take the case of my little cousin, she was not allowed to use the computer at home because my aunt was so afraid it might fo harm to her visions. After years, when she attends junior hight school, when everyone performed well at the computer class, she was clumsy about everything related to computer due to the unfamiliarity. Had it not been for the prohibition of using the computer, she might perform as well as her peers.

To sum up, I strongly believe that it is necessary for children to have the chance spending some time with computers. This is because the skill is needed in the future and because it helps children develop interest in an early age.