Professional athletes such as the football player and basketball player deserved high salaries to be paid?

I agree with the point that professional athletes deserved high pay for the following reasons.

On one hand, as professional athletes create great value, they should receive equivalent reward. That is to say, the more their work worth, the more they should get paid. Athletes, especially those well-known, bring incalculable/tremendous benefits for the economy. For example , the average price for watching a NBA game is 2000 yuan, if not higher. Besides, TV stations and websites also have to spend a large amount of money for broadcasting the game. Furthermore, commercial advertisement companies compete fiercely for just one minute showtime during the game by lavishing/squandering money. According to a research conducted by American National Economy Bureau (ANEB) in 2015 , the profit generated by NBA that year is more than 1000 billion dollars, and that yielded by the most famous basketball player, namely, Kobe Bryant, is more than 10 billion. So, is it fair for Kobe to receive, say, just 100,000 dollars a year now that he earns so much financial gain for the organization? Without professional players like Kobe, the game would not have made so much profits and it would not have been so influential. Thus, high salaries paid to the expert athletes is what they deserve.

On the other hand, the high risks professional sportsmen take during the training and competition justify why they deserved paid well. Generally speaking, the pay one receives from the job is proportionate to the risk they face. Those who play in such sports as football or basketball are usually faced with considerable risks, either from competitors or the sports itself . Messi, one of the famous football players in the world, was badly injured because of a slide tackle during a game in 2014. The injury and the recover process followed prevented him from attending the rest games that year, making him lose almost all the benefits he could have received. Sang Lan, a well known gymnast, hurt herself during the Olympic in 1998, leading to paralysis for the rest of her life. She could not devote herself to any job anymore, not to mention making money. The list could go on and on. Obviously, it is because of their past salaries that they and their family could get through the miserable time and lead a decent life. If they had not been paid well in the past, there would not have been a chance for them to put themselves together.

According to the reasons listed above, I hold that professional athletes are deserved to receive high salaries.