Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are happier when they give away extra money to charity or a good cause rather than when they spend it on themselves.

In today's fast-paced world, many individuals are just concerned with their businesses, with little consideration for the well-being of others or the entire society. However, many individuals are willing to donate their money to charity to make the world a better place. What motivates them to do this? They are most likely happy than those who spend all of their money on themselves.

To begin with, helping others encourages us to feel good about ourselves. We believe we can make a difference in the world and that our activities have a good influence. As a result, we might obtain a sense of self-satisfaction and pride, which is essential for pleasure. Those who are simply concerned with themselves, on the other hand, are unlikely to enjoy this sense of fulfillment. They may be happy for a time while they collect money, but money cannot provide them with a feeling of completion in the long run. Though possessing considerable money, Ebenezer Scrooge, the stingy central character in Charles Dickens's 'A Christmas Carol,' is not pleased. Only after he recognized his error and became generous could he be happy in the end.

Furthermore, when we give to others, we form relationships and social links, making us feel more connected to the world and other people. Humans, as we all know, are social animals; thus, when we feel bonded to one another, we obtain a sense of security and feel happy. Furthermore, serving a worthwhile cause reminds us that there are causes more significant than ourselves that we can support. Even if we don't know the individuals we serve, we may connect with them since we contribute to humanity. According to a Fudan University study done in 2021, people who prefer contributing to others have better degrees of social connectivity, around 69% more than those who are not inclined to do so. It is only through acting kindly toward other people that we may experience the connection that unites us all and maintain our happiness throughout our lives.

Another incentive is that if we continue to donate to charities, we may establish a reputation for giving, earning us more praise and friends. Everyone wishes to befriend generous individuals. We may enjoy our life more if we have more friends that support and advocate for us. Consider my brother; he wants to donate to charities by donating his clothing, books, and money. Not only does he continue to perform acts of generosity on his own, but he also encourages others to do so. Having created a charity group in his college, he and his classmates conduct various charity events annually to assist the underprivileged. As a result, he becomes the most well-liked student in the university. When asked if he is satisfied with his life, he consistently responds, "Definitely!" It is his passion for philanthropy that binds him to his peers and allows him to appreciate life fully.

Overall, I agree with the view that individuals who are prepared to offer money to charity or contribute to a worthy cause are happier than those who never donate anything.