Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are happier when they give away extra money to charity or a good cause rather than when they spend it on themselves.

In today's fast-paced world, many people are just concerned with their own enterprises, with little regard for the welfare of others or society as a whole. However, many people are eager to devote their money to charity in order to improve the world. What drives their behavior? They are more likely to be content than individuals who spend their entire income on themselves.

Initially, helping others makes us feel better about ourselves. We think we can affect positive change in the world and that our actions have a positive impact. Consequently, we may acquire a sense of self-satisfaction and pride, which is needed for enjoyment. Those who are just preoccupied with themselves are unlikely to experience this sense of fulfillment, though. They may experience temporary happiness while accumulating wealth, but money cannot bring a lasting sense of fulfillment. Ebenezer Scrooge, the miserly protagonist of Charles Dickens' "A Christmas Carol," is dissatisfied despite his vast wealth. Only after seeing his folly and becoming generous was he ultimately able to experience happiness.

Moreover, when we contribute to others, we create relationships and social ties, which enhances our sense of connection with the world and other people. Humans, as we all know, are social animals; thus, when we feel connected to one another, we feel secure and content. In addition, serving a worthy cause reminds us that we may support causes that are more important than ourselves. Even though we do not know the people we assist, we may be able to connect with them due to our contribution to mankind. According to a study conducted by Fudan University in 2021, those who prefer giving to others have around 69% higher levels of social connectedness than those who do not. Only by acting gently toward others may we experience the bond that links us all and keep our pleasure throughout our entire lives.

If we continue to contribute to charity, we may develop a reputation for generosity, which will gain us more accolades and friends. Everyone desires to have generous friends. Life may be more enjoyable if we have more friends that support and advocate for us. Consider my brother; he wants to donate his clothing, books, and money to charity. He not only continues to demonstrate charity on his own, but also encourages others to do likewise. Having founded a charity organization in his college, he and his classmates yearly organize a variety of charitable activities to benefit the disadvantaged. As a result, he becomes the university's most popular student. When asked if he is content with his life, he always replies, "Absolutely!" It is his philanthropic drive that ties him to his peers and enables him to completely appreciate life.

I concur that persons who are willing to donate money to charity or contribute to a great cause are happier than those who never give anything.