Providing internet access is just as important as other services such as building roads so governments should offer internet access to all of their citizens at no cost

A controversial issue relating to the allocation of government funds has been brought to the attention of the public. Relevant authorities are urged to increase their investment on developing Internet access rather than on developing public transportation. It seems obvious to many that in this new era of information the government should be concerned with the demand for faster, cheaper and better quality Internet access. On the other hand, public transport also requires a good deal of financial support from the government. These issues need to be considered as equally important.

Without a doubt, financial support should be allocated to the improvement of Internet access. Nowadays the Internet has impacted far beyond any national boundaries to all corners of the globe. Of all the resulting consequences of the Internet on this society, many of them are beneficial. However, there are also influences that could be seen asnegative and these are a concern for the government. Thus, more funds should be assignedto both of these two aspects of the Internet. One portion should be focused on developing the fast growing information technology so that people can have easier, cheaper and quicker access to legal websites, with a percentage of that funding being used to control and supervise the behavior of cyber companies and netizens to reduce potential harm. These may include spreading rumors, opening illegal and unsavory websites, delivering junk mail, sending viruses, hacker attacks and so forth.

Nonetheless, maintaining a sound public transportation system is definitely in the interest of the general public. Therefore, this also deserves attention and funding from the government. In actual fact, the continual improvements to the public transportation systems always need enormous financial support. For example, new roads have to be built and old roads must be repaired. Meanwhile, more bus routes or subways lines are being constructed and new overpasses need to be erected. In addition to the basic infrastructure, the increasing congestion and frequent traffic jams needattention and solutions. All of these projects demand a large amount of money.

In effect, every responsible citizen could be encouraged to join in the official efforts of developing and advancing a more harmonious society. As an example, it is advisable for people to report any illegal websites immediately and warn others against any possible threat of online frauds. Also, regarding public transport, all passengers could be more responsible. Private car owners could be more aware of reducing their car use during rush hours. These are simple ideas, but could be extremely worthwhile.

In conclusion, maintaining sustainable development is a common target valued in all countries today. Government officials ought to have a broader perspective when it comes to funding and avoid unilateral thinking. As a result, well-balanced investment strategies could result, ensuring steady, advanced progress of both the Internet and the public transportation systems.