Question 37

Many people welcome the opening of shopping areas near their homes. On the other hand, some people are strongly opposed to the construction of such facilities. If the opening of a large shopping center in your neighborhood were announced, would you support or oppose its construction? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

While some people do not agree with the construction of a shopping center near their neighborhood, I am on the side to welcome its opening. I will explore the reasons for this in detail.

First of all, when a big shopping facility is available near my house, it would be very convenient all the time. When I was living in the suburban area of Tokyo, there was no restaurants, book stores, clothing stores, or even the smallest convenience stores. The only way to purchase something is to get a twenty-minute drive or take a train to get five stations beyond. That was a real pain for me because I am fond of shopping. Browsing stores through windows gives me a thrill as well. Therefore I would subscribe to the idea of constructing a shopping facility nearby.

Another reason comes when I compare a shopping mall with an online shop. It is true that online shopping is on the trend these days, but live shopping still has an edge over internet shopping because we can feel and touch the real texture of items. When we want to buy books, it is important to flip through pages in order to make sure the book in my hands is the very one I want to get. My personal experience tells me why this process is important. I once bought a secondhand book on the internet, but they sent me a book full of underlines, making it almost illegible. If I had found it on a real bookstore, I could have confirmed if there was no writing on the item.

People might argue that a shopping facility nearby would be a defect in their living conditions, demonstrating some examples in which excessive noise and busy roads were brought about by a crowd of people. However, I am sure that we can avoid this problem through talking with the due company. We can talk through until we are convinced by their conditions.

For those reasons above, I would support the construction of a new shopping center near my house.