Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The idea of extended family members that is grandparents, cousins, aunts, uncles living together nowadays is much more sparse and uncommon as compared to past days. It would not be wrong to consider it a failing practice with advancing age. Few reasons could be discussed as follows.

Firstly, with the advent of this era of hustle and bustle, people are more busier in their lifestyles then they ever were before. With the increasing expenses, competition, the pressure to maintain social image has approached a very drastically damaging extent. Family members do not have time to see and greet each other. Parents are distant from their own children. The centres like child care centres, old age homes, have taken the joy of togetherness away from the family members. The people are becoming a victim of mental and health diseases like depression, silicosis, Parkinson's disease more than ever before. The idea of grandmothers reading bed time stories to grandchildren is becoming a fantasy in its own now. The children long for the affection of their grandparents, they yearn for the joy of laughter with cousins. This whole new way of life is benefitting no one other than office bosses,

Consequently, the element of happiness, bliss, cheerfulness is becoming a fading feeling. The new robotic and monotonous lifestyle has left a human spirit dull and empty. The presence of gadgets and innovations like tabloids, computers, video games has become an addiction for children. The children are not getting the warmth and interaction with other family members making them more anti-social and unhealthy. They have poor mental and physical capabilities. Their growth, bone strength, muscle power, eyesight, everything is being adversely effected. But if the same kids could get some taste of bondage with their extended family members their whole personalities could take a beautiful shift towards optimism and better health. They could get more attention, become more confident and excel in their tasks on daily basis.

Sadly, these plus points of a bonded extended family are not considered nowadays. Their significance and importance is highly neglected and ignored. Lonely lifestyles and privacy are the standard of society. People with more money are respected while parents and siblings are condescended. In a summation, i would strongly agree with the presented statement that extended family is given less attention and value in this era than in past times. The quotation of Old is Gold is totally forgotten.