A school has been given money to spend on one thing to improve the school. Do you think it is better to spend the money on organizing social activities for students to participate in after school hours, or on improving the quality of the food served in the cafeteria?

Budget allocation is an essential duty of educational institutions, and if done correctly, would aid their programs to be much more fruitful. I think that schools, especially universities, are not taking social skills of students very seriously, and this area needs immediate considerations. So it is only logical for me to advocate allocating budget to organizing social events and activities.

The reason I am stating that "immediate consideration" is needed is that nowadays, we are facing many serious social problems. My main slogan for this argument is that in the contemporary world, we need more kindness rather than more scientists. And since kindness has to do with the world of emotions which falls within the realm of social activites, we should promote social activities among students who are at the height of their vulnerablity and flexibility. In social activities, students learn sympathy; the lack of which is the most common problem of today's people which leads to selfishness and a society with deteriorating human values. The other skill students will learn is the art of how to communicate effectively. Communicative skills are very important to lead a healthy life. Anger, anxiety, commitment issues, and relationship challenges are clear instances of poor communicative skills. Contemplating these vital issues, I cannot begin to think how one might think that the quality of the food can be superior to social concerns.

Students in high schools are mostly aged from forteen to eighteen years old, a period in which they need the most entertainment and leisure time. I think that the absence of a healthy pastime can encourage young, pleasure-seeking students to engage in leisures which will cause them many regrets to fill the void. For example, in my country, the lack of free and enjoyable recreational activities have created a niche for opportunitists to invite simple-minded teenagers and students to using narcotics. If schools were to be organizing more social gatherings, we will witness less of these heartbreaking incidents.

But enough with moralizing lectures. Students in any age having mundane enjoyments certainly cannot be frowned upon! I think that social activies are great respites from dealing with professor and meeting stressful deadline, especially for university students. There is no doubt that studying, especially in well-renowned university, is very stressful and challenging. And not everyone can cope with these hardships effectively. I think that some group activities and social events can take the students' minds off their stress-inducing routines, and give them a chance to rejuvenate. One cannot possible expect students-sociable creatures in nature- to work without any rest. Even a car needs some rest after a few hours of working for crying out loud.

So we should not fall victim to the misconception that social activities are not that important, and nugatory issues like food can be of higher priorities to receive budgets. Organizing social activities will benefit society in the ways mentioned in this essay grealy in the long run. No amount of effort and money put into social activities can be considered too much.