Schools always collect information about teaching performance and give rewards to those teachers who perform well Which way do you think is more useful 1 to evaluate teachers 039 performance by students 2 to evaluate teachers 039 performance by

Knowing the teaching quality of teachers provides a more helpful and insightful tool for school to improve their education and reputation. Thus, when it comes to evaluate the teachers’ teaching quality, how to get a more objective and efficiency evaluation result is a big issue for school. While some people suggest that use the evaluation results from other teachers may be useful, I insist that the evaluation of teachers should be done by their students because of objectiveness and benefits for teaching quality.

To begin with, although some people argues that the peer evaluation from other teachers may be more objective because they know the content of teaching better than students, I doubt that since there is competition between different teachers, especially when school plan to reward some teachers according to their evaluation result. Thus, the evaluation from other teachers may not be objective or even be more suspicious when teachers are in the same competition. By contrast, because students have nothing to do with the rewards of teaching, their feedback of teachers can provide objective comments of teachers, which would be truly helpful in teachers’ performance evaluation.

Furthermore, by collecting feedback of teachers from students could improve the teaching quality. To be more specific, the students’ evaluation of one teacher basically based on his/her understanding of the content in the class. If we can get more information about the students’ opinion about the class content and the teacher’s teaching style, we could probably know how to adjust and improve the teaching quality. For example, there was an annual evaluation of each teacher in my high school, students were required to evaluate the teachers’ performance based on their likeness and understanding level of the teacher’s teaching. By indicating that I cannot follow the math teacher as her teaching pace was so fast to most of my classmates, the math teacher slowed down her teaching pace and paused at some difficult formulas to discuss with us, which gave us a better understanding and higher score of math.

While I cannot deny that other teachers’ evaluation plays a role in teaching quality since they know more teaching methods than students, we need to realise that students are the main and direct objects in teaching process, thus, knowing students’ comments on the teaching process gives us some direct and important information about teaching quality.

To sum up, I suggest that students should perform the evaluation of their teachers, which not only may provide more objective evaluation, but also could improve the teachers’ teaching quality. However, the evaluation from other teachers may not gain those benefits for both schools and students.