Schools always collect information about teaching performance and give rewards to those teachers who perform well Which way do you think is more useful 1 to evaluate teachers 039 performance by students 2 to evaluate teachers 039 performance by

In my point of view, if schools plan to give rewards to well-performing teachers, I think student evaluations of teachers’ performance are more useful. The preference is due half to teachers’ goal and half to disinterest toward the evaluation.

First of all, in my opinion, a teacher’s teaching goal is to help students master knowledge faster and more effectively. Therefore, it is essential to collect what students say about their teachers. Imagine a teacher who can accurately impart knowledge, help students solve learning difficulties, and assuage students’ doubts. Students, with the help of said teacher, having achieved excellent grades and having acquired new knowledge, will surely give the teacher positive feedback. On the other hand, if the teacher did not explain the material clearly or made some mistakes, this will also be manifested in the evaluations submitted by students, thus helping teachers to progress and improving the teaching standard. Take me, a teacher, as an example. At the end of each course, my school asks each student to fill out an assessment form. Students grade the teachers and write out the teachers’ strengths and weaknesses. Every time I get these assessment forms, I read them carefully, maintaining my strengths and improving upon my weaknesses. As a result, my teaching level has become better and better, and my school has also increased my salary and rewarded me last month.

In addition, when it comes to rewards, the impartiality of the assessment is also a key point to be taken into account. The relationship between teachers and students is simpler and more objective than the relationships between colleagues. For students, teachers disseminate knowledge and students acquire knowledge. Thus, teachers who perform well receive positive evaluations and poor teachers are left with negative evaluations. By contrast, among colleagues, the interests may lead to some unfair phenomena. For example, my friend Anderson is a good teacher, but his colleagues conspired to lower his score because of their envy towards him. As a result, Anderson was deprived of the opportunity to receive a reward. Therefore, the student evaluation forms are much more objective than the evaluations from other teachers.

In sum, I prefer student evaluation of teachers’ performance instead of evaluations by other teachers. In this process, teachers are able to help students more effectively, and we can guarantee the objectivity of the evaluation.