Should cars be banned from town centres in order to reduce traffic and pollution? If so, how should people get around instead?

Nowadays urban areas are intensely fulfilled with cars and everything turns around it. But whereas cities have already vertically increased, the quantity of cars are increasing still and with it, some odds.

Back to the very last century's very beginning, streets were where people would gather with each other and have their recreation moments in general. However, their space became more and more invaded by automobiles, such as cars and motorcycles. As a result, relaxation moments have been limited to happen among, for instance, some pub or restaurant walls. Thereby, regarding this situation, cities as São Paulo are trying to recover this past habit by means of closing the main city avenue for cultural and familiar events every Sunday, providing a vision of how a car-free city could work well.

A city with an overcrowded car population aspect not only increases air pollution, but the illness of citizens' mental health as well, once the everyday traffic has a tendency to provoke a higher stress level. Back to the cafes, pubs, restaurants and alike, free-car cities' residents and tourists, such as Venice's, highlight the difference which a noiseless and calm ambient offers. Another positive aspect to discuss is how the environmentally-friendly ambient influences healthier habits on people, once, without cars and with less pollution, they became more energetic to work better and to change habits - ride a bike and use public transport more frequently for example.

Therefore, the likelihood of free-car initiative improving the population's health is high. However, it would only work if the government worked to not only to improve the public transport system and create cycle lanes, but to organize more cultural events as well. Moreover, awareness campaigns aimed at environmentally-friendly habits and its positive effects would be extremely necessary, in order to create a society's collaboration with the project and increase the search for alternatives and available vehicles such as public ones.