Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should

governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)?

Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Properly allocating budget to develop medical, educational, military, recreational and public facilities is a challenge for all governments in charge. When it comes to the question that should government spend more money to improve whether public transportation or highways and roads? People adopt different attitudes. On the one hand there are people who believe that improving highways and roads reduces roads accidents and provide more safety for people. On the other hand, others believe that developing and rejuvenating public transportation is a must for every large city. I hold confidence on the latter opinion since I believe it has profound influence on society and people’s life.

Air pollution is the most challenging issue that every large city facing with. Moreover, a substantial amount of pollutant materials is produced by cars which their number is drastically increasing. Therefore, developing public transportation assist government to reduce toxic environmental pollutants and conserve environment. Furthermore, decreasing the combustion of petroleum, gas and oil, not only reduces air pollution but also preserve non-renewable resources. Therefore, such priceless resources can be utilized in more effective way not just for travelling around.

In addition, developed public transportation may also reduce traffic congestion and improve traffic flow. In fact, as much as people initiate to utilize public transportation, the number of cars which run into streets and roads will decrease whereby people will rarely stick in traffic. Moreover, traffic noises will also be disappeared and people can live in more peaceful city. Besides, people may also save their time and money since public vehicles fares are less than the money people should spend driving by their private cars. Apart from these, people have the opportunity to socialize with their friends and also find new friend by utilizing public transportation, therefore, they will feel a sense of community.

In summary, developing public transportation facilities reduces air pollution, preserve natural resources, reduce traffic congestion and give people opportunity to more socialize. In other words, it assists people to have more peaceful life. Such advantages of developing public transportation facilities are enough to give priority over improving highways and roads.