should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Transportation is an important part of our lives. We spend an essential part of our time going from one place to another. Governments always try to do their best to improve the quality of transportation and that’s why it has an essential part of any election plan. One of the heated debates in this realm is whether governments should spend more money on improving roads and highways, or on improving public transportation. In my view, governments should spend more on public transportation for two reasons.

First, public transportation is better for nature. Due to the increasingly inclining population, the number of used cars has increased dramatically. These cars are producing carbon dioxide gas which caused the global warming problem. If governments spend more on public transportation, it will encourage more people to use it. For instance, I am living in a very crowded city called Istanbul. The main transportation method here is subways as it is faster and more effective than cars. Even people who have cars started to use them in order to save time and money. As the subways work by electricity, they are a good way to save the environment. Consequently, governments should try to develop them more.

Second, developing public transportation is less expensive and more effective than improving roads. Even though roads can be used for trading, they need a huge amount of money to be improved. Governments can spend less money on trains which are used by more people in society. Furthermore, trains are a safer and faster way for commercial purposes as we have very developed trains that can be as fast as planes. For example, people in my country use trains most of the time for traveling. Due to trains and airplanes, the number of people using highroads is not worthing that the amount of money needed to be spent to improve highroads. Last week, I have read about an electrical train that is faster than airplanes. If governments invest more money in this field, we may have a new revolutionary way of transport.