Should parents help their children with their assignments or let them do their assignments independently?

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that in today’s sophisticated world we live in being independent is a key factor to achieving success in one’s job or personal life. On the other hand it is an indisputable fact that every person learns how to act independently from early stage of their lives. Thus, it is an undeniable issue that parents always play a prominent/substantial/pivotal role in how children develop, independent or needy, having responsibility or not. One of the heated debates in this realm is should parents assist their children doing their assignment or let them do their assignments individually? I personally believe that children should do their homework personally without their parents’ interfere. In what follows my reasons supporting this opinion would be delineated.

The first exquisite reason to be mentioned is that if children do their assignments personally, they will learn how to be independent OF their parents and stand on their own feet as future persons in society. In addition doing home works individually leads children to have more self-confidence and self-esteem. As long as children do their assignments by themselves and finally accomplish them, they gain a sense of satisfaction and gradually learn the fact that “no pain, no gain”. By way of illustration, when children do their assignments alone, maybe they fail, at the beginning, however, continuously they will encourage to persist in their attempts to reach their goals. The sense of self-confidence and satisfaction they gain when they do their homework individually, will be transferred to their other activities. And finally they will figure out that nothing will be achieved without persistence.

The second rationale behind this opinion rooted in the fact that children’s creativity and innovation will be boosted if they do their assignments without their parent’s intervention. As a personal example, when I was child, despite the fact that most mothers were housewives, my mother used to work outside and she could not help me in my assignments. So I had to do my homework personally. One day I had a lot of math assignments which they had tediously long solutions and I thought a lot and finally find a short way to get the answer expeditiously. Had I not done my homework alone, I would not have the opportunity of finding an easy way to do my assignments. Thus, children who do their assignments alone have the opportunity to become more creative persons not only in academic performances, but also in various stages of their future lives.

Another equally important point which comes in the mind is that although parents are the first teachers for their children, most of them are busy nowadays and they are not able to give enough time to their children and help them to do their assignments. On the other hand, it is better that parents help their offspring just by providing facilities and conveniences instead of giving their hand directly. As a matter of fact, this manner could provide assistance to children in order to be able to do their tasks independently and be responsible for future consequences of their works. Therefore, if parents consider this point meticulously, their children will learn how to accomplish their works even if they parents are not available to help them.

In short, all of the aforementioned grounds lead us to draw a conclusion that if parents do not assist their offspring directly, children will learn how to be independent and do their works individually and also it helps them to preserve their self-esteem and improve their creativity which may guarantee their future success.