Some famous athletes and entertainers earn millions of dollars every year. Do you think these people deserve such high salaries? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

We all know that rich celebrities enjoy fancy lives, that are very different from the common population. Some of them have worked very hard during their lives to reach their precious status, and others may just have had luck and talent. Despite the fact that the business of entertainment and sports moves vast amounts of money and some people who work in it are incredibly talented and hardworking, I believe that entertainers and athletes should not earn millions and millions of dollars due to the reasons that I will explain in the present essay.

First of all, we live in a world of inequalities due to a horrible distribution of resources. The idea that few people make huge amounts of money, and at the same time, others die because of hunger is very sad. It may be difficult to point out just a person or industry responsible for this, but I think the government has something to do with it. If there were a public institution which regulates the salaries of the people, there would not be significant differences between salaries. For example, the government could present by law the ranges of salaries for each occupation, according to the working hours, education background, and danger of the work, among other factors. In this case, entertainers and athletes can see their salaries diminish, but for a good cause; in order to pay more to workers who don’t have a unique talent, or have had neither luck nor opportunities, and earn very little.

Second, nobody needs millions of dollars to live, so they could perfectly live well even if they earned 10% of their salary. If our economic and political system was very organized and distributed money effectively, there would not be poverty. Of course, inequality might be something natural on this planet because not all businesses are equally lucrative. However, extreme wellness is not good since it implies the exploitation of resources just for one person or family. For instance, Richard Raymond, an entertainer and owner of a TV station, has a salary of 10 million dollars. He could live luxuriously with 1 million dollars, and the rest of his money could be used for charity or the creation of employment for other less lucky persons.

In summary, I believe millionaire entertainers and sportsmen should not earn as much because it contributes to inequality and they could live well not being extremely rich.