Agree or disagree, and why? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Although playing video games is popular among children and many parents are permissive with their kids about this activity, it is true that video games are not so beneficial for everyone. If I were a parent, I would restrict this activity for my children. Consequently, I strongly agree with the statement due to the following reasons.

First of all, computer games don't help to develop social skills and are detrimental to school performance. In fact, nowadays computer games are seen as a great factor that contributes to the isolation of children. Research conducted by The University of California, Los Angeles indicates that children who play computer games every day tend to have fewer friends than those who perform this activity two times a week or less. Furthermore, the latter group has better grades in general due to the fact that they have more time to study or to finish their homework for school. As they have less time to study, their learning process is of lower quality and, as a result, they get bad grades.

Second, if I had children, I would encourage them to practice sports instead of playing video games. I believe that physical activity is essential in our lives. Especially sports that are practiced in a team, such as basketball, volleyball, or soccer, among others. Instead of sitting on the couch or at your desk in front of a screen and playing in a virtual reality, you could be breathing fresh air exercising, talking with new people, or strengthening your friendships in a healthy way. Personally, when I was a child, I rarely played computer games. I preferred playing soccer with my neighbors. Every Tuesday we used to gather in a soccer pitch two blocks from home, and we would kick the ball for several hours. I believe this healthy hobby helped me to keep fit and grow well.

Third, children may waste several hours in front of their computers, and this hobby may become a vice. I have known many cases in which parents with their children have had to go to the psychologist because of computer games. Kids don't realize the valuable time that they are wasting. For instance, my cousin failed his first year at high school since he spent so many hours playing online instead of studying.

In summary, from my point of view, playing computer games is a waste of time and should be a restricted activity as it is not favorable for your health, grades at school, and social skills.