Some high school students are delaying college for a year in order to take a gap year where pursue other opportunities such as work or travel. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of gap years. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

College deferral is one of the facilities given by the university to assist a student delay their admission due to inexorate circumstances such as immediate family death or financial problem. Recently, the facility also used by other student for facilitated them to travel or do some volunteer work. Although delaying college will give the student opportunities to get real experience and skill, it also have disadvantages that I would like to elaborate in the next paragraph.

First, leaving school for such a long period has adverse effect for the student. They might forget the knowledge about applied science such as math and physic. It is a fact that in daily life we do not use law of gravity or rule of chemical titration. Thus, when they started school one year later, they might have difficulties to catch up with other student who recently graduate.

The other thing that needs to be considered is the student might lose interest to pursue a degree. It happen time to time. When they got high income or they got job offer in exotic places, they might forgone their education. This would be affecting them negatively since in today job environment, university degree is a minimum requirement.

In the other hand, College deferral gives a lot advantage for student. It give additional time to gain essential skill and knowledge to pursue undergraduate degree. We all know how hard it is to gain a bachelor degree. It is necessary for a freshman to have abilities in time management, communication, and teamwork. This is provided by working and travelling.

Working in a real life setting either volunteer or full time job, give the student the chance to work in a team, mingled with adult, practice their leadership and communication skill and the most important thing their sense of obligation. Travelling also give student the better insight in other culture, learn to respect it and adjuct to it. The responsibility for fulfill job deadline or plan the itinerary and flight scheduled as efficient as could also give added value to their capability. Therefore, when they started their school, they already equipped with this skill and could use it to the fullest in their learning process.

Overall, delaying school is important decision that needs careful consideration. It will become a huge advantage or hindered student to be successful. I believe the parents and kids need to be careful and took all the precaution before deciding the matter.