Some high school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for students’ learning and why?

Since the origin, man has been trying to implement the best methods that are possible to improve learning efficiency of students. Today, most teachers wonder whether it would be better if they spend most of the class time lecturing while students listen and take notes or on discussions and projects that students involved in. In my opinion, teachers should involve students and let them exchange their ideas because unlike lecturing that is extremely boring, a discussion would be more efficient for teaching new things. Moreover, the discussion would decrease the possibility of making mistakes. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, a discussion would involve in all students and turn on their mind; thus, it helps students to learn better. In other words, a discussion allows all students to express their comments freely without being shy. Thus, they participate in the discussion and let their minds to get involved and learn new things. On the contrary, lecturing for students especially for students aged 14-18, having other important issues in their minds, would be boring. For example, I remember when I was 16, we have a physics course in which the teacher was always lecturing from beginning to the end of the class. Actually, it was completely boring for all of the students that seldom do students intend to attend his class. On the other side, we also have a mathematics course in which the teacher involved all students when he was teaching a new lesson. He insistently asked all students to state their opinion even for a simple question. Consequently, this method of teaching lets students ask their questions without any shy and also forces them to think about the things that the teacher is talking about. As a result, unlike the other class, all students attended the class interestingly that this helps them to get good scores in the final exam.

Second, the discussion would decrease the possibility of making mistakes. For sure, it could be possible that through a lecturing class, the teacher might make some mistakes and students note them without understanding them. Also, they might don’t mention the mistake even if they realize it because they may shy or they may not have enough confidence. As a result, they will learn something wrong. On the contrary, in a discussion atmosphere, all students get involved in the class and express their opinions and it would decrease the possibility of making mistakes. For example, when I was a student in high school, we were discussing an interesting problem with our teacher in the mathematics class. He had an opinion that some students thought he was wrong. Consequently, after some arguments, our teacher got convinced and thanked all students for involving the discussion and expressing his mistake. For sure, if he had not been let us exchange our opinions easily, we might not have been expressed our comments at all.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that teachers should involve students and let them say their opinion by discussion in the class.