Some high school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for students’ learning and why?

Teachers have always been trying to apply the best methods of teaching for the prosperity of their students. The importance of these methods in high school because they are in the adolescence period is double. In this regard, there is a debate among teachers on whether spending most of the class time on lecturing rather than a discussion among students and teachers is more effective for students' learning or not. In my opinion, it is indispensable for teachers to spend most of the class time on speaking while the students listen and take notes. In the following paragraphs, I will advocate my point of view.

First of all, students ages 14-18 usually like to demonstrate their abilities by talking and it takes a lot of class time. Therefore, teachers couldn't present all the essential content for students. In other words, if teachers spend most of the class time lecturing, they can better manage what they want to say. My personal experience illustrates this issue quite well. When I was in high school, we have a math teacher who tried to involve students in discussions. He usually spent half of the semester discussing with students about the contents of our course. However, in the second half of the semester, he faced numerous content that he should have taught us in a limited time. Consequently, he summarized those contents and accelerated presenting them. Not only didn't we understand what he said, but also he couldn't cover all contents. If he had not spent half of the semester on the discussion, we would have better learned.

As the second reason, in high school, most students are in their adolescence period. In this period, students are a little rude, and discussions in class might tend them toward impoliteness to their teachers. This might make teachers angry, and they lose their concentration on teaching. For example, our physic teacher in high school usually made a positive atmosphere in class for students to have a scientific discussion in class with them. Sometimes, my classmates tried to make fun in class, and this made our teachers angry. Hence, he lost his concentration and made some obvious scientific mistakes. I couldn't tell him about his mistakes because he was so angry and might take me out of the class. Those mistakes misled many of students. Had he not involved students in discussions, students would have better understood the contents of our course.

To sum up, managing the contents that they should present in class is more convenient for teachers if they spend most of the class time on lecturing. In addition, by applying this way, they prevent of impoliteness of some students who make teachers angry. These are my reasons for why I believe that it is more appropriate for teachers to allocate class time to lecturing.