Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the hectic modern era, education and success of offsprings have become the paramount issue in parent’s minds and thoughts. They try to employ numerous methods to spur youngsters to study harder. Nowadays, one of the approaches extensively used by parents is offering rewards to children as an incentive for studying harder and achieving better grades. On the other side of the controversy, many parents are opposed to such strategies claiming its long term effects on children is detrimental. I contend that the former method is hugely beneficial, and the vast majority of parents should employ this method. In what follows, two elaborate reasons will vindicate my standpoint.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that the carrot and stick approach stems from a natural law that rules the world. This phenomenon is seen everywhere in the world, such as training your dog to catch the frisbee disk by hugging it every time it obtains the frisbee disk. This event is conspicuous in more sophisticated settings such as modern human struggle with air pollution. In all cases, doing something good results in a reward and doing something inappropriate results in punishment. Youngsters who study hard will receive their prize when they grow up and perhaps seeing the results at age twenty is a little bit too late. Therefore, I believe showing the fruits of their labor sooner might be a perfect approach to motivate them to be more industrious.

My personal experience is a compelling example of this. My sister was not interested in Mathematics when she was in elementary school. Instead, she loved reading novels and spent most of her time reading. My parents decided not to buy her novels unless she gets good grades in her Mathematics. In the beginning, she became indignant, but after a while, my little sister started studying Mathematics tenaciously and excelled in the exams. Had they not taken employed this approach, she would have failed Mathematics.

The second noteworthy reason is that it has scientists have proven that in the learning process of the brain requires both praise and punishment. For instance, when infants touch something hot and feel the pain, they learn to not contact it again in the future. Furthermore, they learn that whenever they cry, parents will reward them by giving them food. Besides, we have all seen many such experiments performed on monkeys too. This fact is the intuition behind many modern Artificial Intelligence methods employed recently by scientists. These methods are present everywhere nowadays, and they are have arguably become the essence of the information era. The backbone of these techniques is the same, giving results to the intelligent agent whenever the agent acts pertinently and punishing otherwise. Experts in this field have mentioned countlessly many times that the learning process of these systems is analogous to the learning process of newborns.

Ultimately, I do believe that providing awards is an effective way of persuading children to become more hardworking primarily because of the carrot and stick argument and secondly because of the cerebral effects of this approach. Albeit some psychological effects have to be taken into consideration, I think the advantages of this method supersedes its disadvantages. Consequently, parents concerned with the educational success of their children should employ this method.