Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal.Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

one cannot argue that a political leader is nothing without support from the society, but I believe adhering to ideals is what makes a politician. In the following paragraphs I will bring several reasons to support my point of view.

first, assume the extreme case when political leaders constantly adhere to public opinion. In order to achieve such society, it is necessary to measure the public opinion on every matter once in a while. since ruining elections comes at a great cost, doing so seems impossible from a financial point of view. Furthermore, people are not usually knowledgeable about politics and that is why people choose experts among themselves to represent them on such matters. In order to show the importance of experts vs public opinion, consider the recent example of "brexit"; even though most of the british politicians and economists have advised that leaving European Union will be greatly detrimental to Britain's economy, public vote has agreed with brexit.

Secondly, if one believes in some ideals, in order to gain popularity, it is crucial that they stick to their beliefs. To illustrate, consider Mohandas Gandhi; at his time he was both opposed by Indians and british because of his views regarding fighting without violence. if he, even for once, did not follow his principles, no one would have followed him because it would display him as someone without consistency between his actions and beliefs. Instead, what Gandhi did was adhering to his principles and finally succeeding in acquiring independence from the british.

In strike contrast with the first two reasons, sometimes it is not as easy to decide compromising is the logical option or not. To explain why, consider the case of Syria or Cashmere, what is happening there is that innocent people are dying because neither sides of the clash are not willing to compromise with the other. since in such cases human lives is at stake, I believe that in such cases common ground is more important than following personal goals. On the other hand, sometimes it is reasonable to continue and fight for the cause regardless of oppositions. Abraham Lincoln's fight against slavery exemplifies this case of argument.

For the aforementioned reasons above, one can conclude that politics is about following a goal, but in some cases finding common ground is also crucial.