Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

The technology is rapidly pacing in today's world. There are a plethora of innovations which came up during the 21st century across many fields - Medicine, Art, Science and many more fields. Smart phones are also one of its kind which is ubiquitous in the modern world. During the olden days having a telephone within a house used to be a great deal, but today, cell phones are carried by almost every individual. This is due to the fact that these smart phones provide many advantages and benefits to the people and make their lives easier. Thus, taking the pros the smart phones provide to the mankind into consideration, I agree that young children must be given smart phones.

In the first place, the smart phones work as an aid to the children in order to improve their knowledge. There are lots of web pages and educational websites available using which children can learn new things and practice them. For instance, I had a strong interest in learning a new programming language - Java while I was in the high school. I used my smart phone to dive deep into the internet and learn the key concepts of that programming language. I was able to write codes and get them verified by people who participate in the online discussion forums. Thus, I believe that smart phones help the children in learning new things.

Moreover, smart phones help the children to get in touch with their parents, relatives, and friends. For instance, my cousin who is in the 5th grade uses Whatsapp calling feature to inform his mother to pick him up from school. He also contacts many of his friends and teachers to get help in performing his homework. If this feature of internet calling was not available, he should have walked or traveled to his friends' homes to get help; which consumes a lot of time. Hence, cell phones help the students to connect with important people, serve as an aid in doing the homework and also saves time.

What's more, cell phones allow the children to participate in the activities pertaining to social services. There are a lot of volunteering works posted on social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, and WhatsApp which allow people to participate in events like fundraising. These funds would be donated to the old age homes, orphans and the destitute. Thus, accessing the internet using mobiles encourage children to perform good deeds in life which would be useful to the betterment of the society in their future.

To conclude, cell phones are always advantageous to the children in many ways. Although there could be some drawbacks of its usage - like addiction, by parental intervention and monitoring, these could be prevented. Taking all the benefits cell phones provide the children into consideration - like access to wide range of knowledge, saving time, communicating with friends and teachers - cell phones are one of the important tools children need to utilize.