Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

With the advent of technology, smartphones have been a magnificent invention and they have become a major part of our day to day life. Some parents forbid their children for owning the smartphone, but I disagree. In my view, they are a boon rather than a curse and I feel in this way for the undermentioned reasons.

To begin with, smartphones has facilitated the communication in an tremendous manner. Face to face communication has revolutionized the era. In past, we talked for limited hours and voice hearing was only thing possible. But nowadays, we can hear as well as see the person residing far from us. My own experience stands as a compelling example for this. I did my school from Maos boarding school in India. That was the first time I stepped out of my house and moved away from my parents. They were quite distressed and missed me a lot initially. I utilized my smartphone to communicate with them regularly. It became possible to interact with them face to face and we felt like we are sitting beside each other. This is how the situation was alleviated and my parents were satisfied to see me happy in front of them. Just hearing their voice and watching them on phone drains out my stress of the entire day. This is not possible without smartphones and that’s how the world is connected together and our loved ones are one click away.

Secondly, smartphones have furnished us with the functionality to learn and educate ourselves more effectively. Without internet in our phones it was cumbersome to study anywhere and anytime in a handy manner. Although we have facilities of laptop or computers in library but having a smartphone in our hand makes it easier to study promptly and without prior planning of going to the library. Moreover, they have made online learning possible and at our own mood and pace. For instance, during my school days I had a passion for dancing and I was so determined to pursue my career as an actor in movies. However, I had to attend classes alongside my passion because my parents always wanted me to complete school first and they fulfil my dreams as well. We had the provision to take classes online. That’s why I was able to manage my dance classes in the morning and watch the online session in the evening. Many a times we had breaks during the classes and instead of wasting time I used to learn on my cell phones because I had all the lectures downloaded. They were of great help for passing the exams. All in all, smartphones assists us to gather knowledge and learn in an efficient manner.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that if the smartphones are used in a positive manner that it’s negatives can be outweighed. As I said above, they can be used for keeping in touch with the loved ones and also for making learning flexible according to our own pace.