Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones and it is understandable why they do so. But, I am of the opinion that young children should have access to the smart phones. After all, it is they who need them most as they are in their early learning stages. Though some disadvantages are there by allowing the young children to use smart phones, I would like to explain why I believe they should be permitted to use them.

First and foremost, it is through the access through the internet the children these days learn most of the things. For example, a child might not know what he or she is interested in doing. But after having access to internet through smart phones they have wide scope to explore new things and get to know about their likes and dislikes which might help them to be more successful in future as they get to decide what they want to pursue at a such young age. However, one can tell that they can have access to internet through computers and things like that. The children these days are not interested in turning on a computer, installing browsers and then opening websites. The introduction of mobile applications has garnered the interest of not only adults but also children as well. It makes everything simplified and helps the user achieve what they want to do without much knowledge and abstracts the complexities involved in them. Let us take the example of Youtube Kids application in mobile phones. It has a wide variety of contents which are tailor-made for young children that provides both entertainments as well as educational content. If a child is asked to open the same application in a computer in front of a large screen, he or she might not be interested in doing so. But at the same time, if it is available to them in a small handheld device they would be more welcome in using that.

Moreover, it is also an important way to communicate with them. The features such as location tracking and usage monitoring allow the parents to monitor their children's behaviour. I also strongly feel that it is the duty of the parents to educate their young wards of the perils of using such devices. They must be taught from the young age about how to protect themselves from stalkers, hackers and other dangerous people who are out there trying to hurt the users of the internet. BY introducing these things at a young age helps the parents to mould their children and also teach them how to treat others who are communicating with them over the internet and how to behave with them.

In the Digital Age, it is paramount that everyone knows how to use the internet to their benefits and expand their knowledge. Therefore it is the duty of grown-ups to educate the young and upcoming generations on how to use them, their advantage and disadvantages as well as how to protect themselves and how not to harm others.