Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

it is a well known issue that children are playful and are always waiting for an opportunity to escape from studying so as to play with friends. Consequently, parents are looking for methods to attract their children's attention to their lessons. offering money as a reward for high grades is a rampant method to make children concentrate on their studies. In my point of view, this method can be succeed, if the main goal do not get lost in this way, mainly because of following reasons.

First and foremost, every child has a favorite toy or hobby dreaming to obtain and offering money can make a strong motive for reaching it. To make my point more clear, imagine a child who wants a bicycle and parents tell him/her they will buy it if he/she attain desirable results in exams. The child will do his/her best and studies hard in order to obtain the bicycle.

Secondly, giving money to a child in exchange of a work, will improve his/her financial skills. The child will learn how to manage his/her money so as to buy something wishing for. these skills are essential for a growing child and will pay off when he became an independant adult. Also the child will underestand that each result come with a price and he should try for having it. it will prepare him for life in future when there is no family supporting him

However, if the child just focuses on earning money in exchange of studying, he/she wil not notice the importance of lessons she learn on his/her future and will think of them just as some tasks in order to make prents satisfied. Therefore, when the rewards do not exist, no efforts will be makee because the main goal, being educated,has been completely forgotten in this way.

Taking all these into account, rewards are motivating for children but we should be consious about them. it will teach our child many lessons which are important for his growing.