Some parents offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea

In this highly competitive world, having a strong academic background makes students more likely to have a nice job and succeed in his or her career. Thus, nowadays parents put more effort to persuade their kids to study harder. They use various methods, from letting kids attend expensive cram schools to award kids money whenever they achieve high grades. However, whether parents should use money as one of the stimulus for kids is hotly debated in our society. Personally, I disagree with this method and believe it will have a negative effect on children's development. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate in the following passages.

First and foremost, using money as a reward will have a harmful effect on students' attitude toward the meaning of study. Students should be taught to learn for themselves' sake, and the meaning of study is about finding the truth, enriching their lives, and preparing themselves well when they enter workspace. Studying shouldn't be complicated with money, because money will pollute the essence of it. My cousin's experience can be a compelling example of this argument. Her parents tended to reward her every time she had a high grade. This gesture made her believe that winning money was the only meaning of study. When her parents finally noticed this huge mistake and stopped rewarding her with money, it was too late. She no longer saw study as a way of self-improvement, but barely a tool to get rewards. We should guide our kids to appreciate the benefits of studying, rather than putting rewards in front of them.

Secondly, the positive effect of rewarding kids with money won't last long. If a kid is taught to study harder to get more money from his parents, when his parents stop providing such money for him, he will lose interest in studying and his grades will fall quickly too. Money can only be an external and instant stimulus for people. It will never drive them from the bottom of their heart and change their attitude thoroughly, which are mostly internal stimulus.

Admittedly, money can be important to some extent . By using it properly, it can serve as a nice reward and have some impact on students. However, totally relying on it is a problematic idea and people should be more cautious about the use.

In conclusion, based on what has been discussed above, I truly believe that parents shouldn't offer money to their kids even when they have better grades. They should teach their kids what the essence of study is, and learning better can only be achieved when they are driven by internal stimulus.