Some parents offer their school - age children money for each high grade they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea.

Some parents thinks  that  by offering their children money as rewards , they will encourage them. They believe that money will promote children to do more. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. I believe that money will danger the children more than benefit them. The basis of my opinion is financial and educational.

From the financial perspective, money is the worst kind of rewards  especially at young age. If parents offer their children with huge amount of money, they would danger them. For instance, children at young  age do not understand the meaning or the value of the money. Some children just take the money and waste it on un important things. For example, buying unnecessary toys or candy or even lost the money. Others children want to try something new  and if they have the money they will do that. For example, buying cigarette or alcohol.  That for sure will danger their health and leads to serious problems. That is why I think that parents should encourage their children by giving them something else rather than money.

Educationally, the best reward parents can gives to children is to teach them the meaning of the money. To teach them how to save money. If parents want to reward their children, they will reward them by giving them points. Personally, I tried this method with my children. It is perfect. For example, every time my son pass in a test with high grade I give him some points. Then at the end of the month we transfer the points to money. For instance, if he earns 20 points during the month , I will give him 20 dollars to spend. But he has to tell me on what he will spend his money, and I have to agree or disagree. That way I teach my son the value of the money. Also I limit my son from spending money on unnecessary stuff.

In conclusion for the reasons I mentioned above, I do not encourage the parents to offer money to their children as rewards. Children do not understand the meaning of the money.  Children need to learn what money mean before they spend it.