Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I think it is definitely a bad idea to give money to a child as a reward for his academic performance. AIthough this action may stimulate his willing to study harder, it will have many negative effects in the long term.

First and foremost, the student might build a wrong mindset that they are studying for their parent. The study is a process to obtain knowledge and become a better person. If you are studying something, it is not appropriate for you to look for rewards because the study is beneficial to yourself. This is the biggest reward to everyone who is studying hard. Studying is not a special term for students, but for everyone. If children build a wrong impression about the study, they will just study for a high grade rather than appreciate the knowledge itself. In this situation, the study loses its biggest meaning.

Secondly, they will lack the power to study in the future. There is no doubt that parents can't reward their children for studying harder after they graduated from college. But it is necessary for a person to study all through his life. Suppose the child is going to work someday, he will not willing to obtain new knowledge anymore. It will be awful for a company to hire someone who can't obtain new knowledge at work. It is quite hard to imagine a person who has the same amount of knowledge in his fifties and in his twenties. The saying" Graduation from school is the climax of your knowledge." is quite a pity.

Last but not least, it is harmful to children to build a wrong concept about money. If parents just reward the children with large amounts of money without guiding them on how to use the money, they will just spend the money at their will. To make things worse, children may use the money to buy products which are not appropriate at their age. For example, drugs can easily destroy a child's whole life. At least, parents should teach children how to make use of the money.

In a nutshell, giving children money for a high grade is a bad idea in the long term because children will have a wrong concept about money and study. Parents can use other ways to stimulate children's interest in the study such as a trip to museums or travel around famous colleges. High grade is something deserves a reward, but having the right concept about study and money is more important.