Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I think the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey is too strict and limit young people's possibilities. A rule is a kind of experience and expectation, which is passed on through generation to a younger generation. There is no denying that obeying rules can help young people to stay away from troubles. But social status has changed over time, some rules are no longer suitable for today's young people, which may become a huge burden on their way to find their own means.

Firstly, some rules are just the transformations of the dark side in culture. For example, a hot topic on the Chinese web is that women are not allowed to have meals around the table at new year's evening in some areas of northern China. Those who agree with this rule say that women are busy preparing the meal and they can't fit well into men's topic. However, this rule only conveys discrimination towards all women. To make things worst, some elder people in these areas even take it for granted that female are ferior to male in some situation. There is no doubt that this kind of social rule should be abandoned and young people should not be influenced by the dark side of culture.

Another point is that some rules are just unrealistic expectations for young people. In China, most parents don't expect their children to fall in love during high schools. High school students have reached the age of eighteenth, forbidding them from talking about love in teenage years is not realistic. As long as parents discover some traces of teenage love, they will impose great pressure on students, which may lead to unrecoverable hurt inside a teenager's heart. What's worse, they even expect their children to get married shortly after they graduated from college. This kind of rule is just the elder's control over the younger generation. They may expect a good result but it is not realistic. Young people deserve the freedom to make their own choices.

In a nutshell, some rules that societies today expect young people to follow is too strict. Young people should receive guidance and suggestion from the elder generation, but it is unfair to force young people to accept all of them. Young people have their own thoughts and feelings. Even if they fall into some kind of troubles, they can draw lessons and grow quickly.