TPO 39 - Independent taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that it is easier to identify what type of career would lead to success in the past because there are not many jobs in the past. People used to believe that working in the office is surely better than working outdoor, which is no longer true nowadays.

In the past, people who have received higher education is limited. As long as you received higher education in college, you can be a white collar and works in an office. This kind of career will lead to success because a college degree is your biggest advantage over other people. However, today there are so many people in the job market owning a college degree or even higher degrees. Working in an office doesn't necessarily mean that you will have a high salary and an easy life.

What's more, people show more respect for hand work now. In the past, parents encouraged their children to work harder on their study to become so-called brain workers. But as more students have become brain workers, being a brain worker no longer means a bright future. Stories like working late all night in the office are quite prevalent these days. Compared with brain workers, those who work on their hands also have a hard time at work, but they earn more.

The job market is also changing more rapidly due to tech-blooming. In the past few years, the careers related to electricity have a promising future because electricity is a new energy, After a few short years, the careers related to computer science are at their prime because everyone says that computers are the revolutionary power. No one knows which career will be the shining star in the near future.

In a nutshell, the development of higher education, the rise of blue-collar and the unpredictable job market makes it hard for us to identify which career will lead to a promising future. But if you work hard to equip yourself with knowledge and skills, you are sure to be valued by the job market.