It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

I think it is important for the government to spend money on both improving Internet access and public transportation. Internet access is crucial to economic and social development, it carries information and connects the earth into a whole planet. Public transportation is the basic element of public facilities, it brings great convenience to the life of citizens.

Nowadays, more and more people use the Internet to finish their work and get knowledge online. With a high-speed Internet connection, people in the district can watch online courses to further their study and enjoy funny videos on YouTube to have a break. People will be more likely to immigrate to districts with good Internet connection, because it brings good experience of living. If the Internet access is poor, there will be a lot of troubles in our daily life. Just think of driving on the road, your phone can't find Internet signals, then the Google Map won't be able to provide precise navigation, the online music player will stop the music. No Internet access will lead to a bad day. So government should spend money to improve Internet access.

Also, public transportation is not something we can neglect. Although private cars are quite popular in many developed countries, there is always some moments we have to turn to public transportation. Suppose you are on a trip to Toronto, unfortunately, there is a winter storm. If you can't get on a taxi or a subway, it will be quite hard to go back to the hotel, let alone the freezing cold on the street. On the other hand, public transportation is more environment-friendly than private cars. When carrying the same number of people, private cars produce more harmful gas and takes more petrol than buses or subways. As a whole, it is wise for the government to spend money on public transportation.

If the government spends money to improve Internet access and public transportation, citizens can go anywhere in the district and browse anything in the world. That kind of good facilities will surely attract a huge crowd of people to live here. With such a large market, many companies will also choose to build factories and offices in the district. Internet access and public transportation are also key elements of a good tourist destination. Everyone wants to travel with ease and stay connected to the Internet.

There is no denying that good public transportation and Internet access will lead to economic growth.

In a nutshell, the government should spend money on both Internet access and public transportation. These two crucial public facilities lead to good life experience for the citizens. They can also be a great help in leading economic growth.