Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams

I agree with the statement that governments should spend more money in support of the arts than athletics. This is because artists and athletics are in different conditions and need different kinds of financial support.

First of all, athletics are more likely to get financial support from society than artists. There is no denying that sport activities such as Super Bowl attract a great deal of audience every year. Audience will buy tickets to watch the competitions. Advertisements on TV will be a huge income.

In contrast, art museums are attractive to a limited amount of people, it is quite hard for artists to make a living. That is to say, artists need financial support from government more seriously.

Second, even if artists get financial aid from society, it will harm their independence. Let's suppose a poor artist who receives money from a millionaire, he has to compose the art work to the sponsor's taste rather than compose what he wants. It is not only a great harm to the value of his work, but also a negative influence on the development of art. Because of this vicious effect, government should sponsor artists to keep their independence.

Another point is that the market can help athletics grow better. Just take Chinese football team as an example, the athletics in the team are selected by the government, trained by the government and sponsored by the government. But their performance is not satisfying. The football team of other countries are not sponsored by the government, but they slay the Chinese team in the World Cup. This is because the market will give financial aid to the best-performing athletics, which is a health incense to all the athletics.

In a nutshell, artists need government's support more seriously, and government's sponsorship is helpful to the artists but harmful to the athletics.