Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

It goes without saying that from ancient times to this contemporary modern time, education has played a prominent role in each society. Having a solid educational background could assist everyone in having a successful life. In this regard, parents have been striving to improve their children’s knowledge. The controversial question which arises here is whether parents should suggest money to children if they get high grade in school or not. Taking the recent studies into account, it seems as if parents had better give their school-age children money as a present for their tremendous effort of getting high score in that children learn how to set plan for themselves and save money.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that children learn to set goal in their lives and struggle to achieve them. To put it in other words, without having explicit purpose in life, life seems meaningless and futile. If we are taught to set aims in our lives even from early ages, it can keep us effective in our personal and professional pursuits. Accordingly, by giving something such as money for obtaining high grades, children would definitely learn that the more they try, the more money they will gain, which in turn, teaches children if they have certain goal in their life and put the top gear into it, they will acquire precious outcomes. An example can drive this notion home. Once, I read an article in one website about a plan in one of the schools in Canada for making their students more successful in their future vocation. It was mentioned that to achieve this purpose, the administrator of the school asked students’ parents to offer students money if they gain high score. To make long story short, after several years, all students in that school became one of the most influential individuals in their country and all of them asserted that without this wise plan established by school in which we learned to set goals in our lives and struggle for obtaining them, we could not have developed this skill in our lives.

The second noteworthy point is that students learn to be careful with their money. To be more specific, when people try extremely hard to gain money, they are more likely not to spend their money in careless way, which leads to saving a huge amount of their money. As children have made a lot of effort to acquire high grades and consequently, money, they would become similar those people who carefully consider their expenses and think that money does not grow on trees. To put it in the more vivid picture, when I was a school-age child, my parents gave me money each year for my attempt in getting high GPA. Since this money was my accomplishment as a result of my endeavor in school for gaining high score, I saved it in my bank account and did not spend it on futile things like my peers. Now, I use this money to pay my university tuition fee. So, my parent policy about offering money for high grades helps me to be much more conservative in my spending.

In conclusion, having aforementioned reasons and examples into account, one can infer that parents must suggest their children money if they get high grades. Because this policy not only teaches children about setting goals in their lives and strive to achieve them, but also makes children more conservative in their spending.