Some people believe that discussion-based classes are better for students.

Others think that lecture-based classes are more effective. Which ONE do you think is better for students?

Nowadays children education draws more attention than before. Various teaching systems are used to improve the quality of classes, for example, discussion-based classes, lecture-based classes. The inevitable question which has always heat debate among academicians is which teaching system has advantages that carry more weight than other ones. Although some might maintain that lecture-based classes are more effective and more instructive, I firmly contend that discussion-based classes are a better choice for an education system. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that discussion-based class can not only help students to learn from one another but also help them to understand and retain the class’s topic better. In this class, students join the groups and express their ideas about the questions which instructor ask them to answer and learn new thing from each other. Also, they can clear up the ambiguities about the class’ topic in their groups so that they figure out it better. To exemplify, last year I attend a summer school. After a lecture for a certain amount of times in the class, instructors asked us some questions to answer with concrete examples and to do small projects about the topic. In the class, we created groups, talked about questions, worked on our projects, and reported our results to the class. After each class, I learned so much and I felt that I had never been in such fascinating classes.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that it is more difficult to maintain focus in the lecture-based class rather than discussion-based one. Although the concentration time-span depends on the students’ abilities, fifty minutes is the average length of time that students can direct attention to one task. Therefore, it is difficult to stay focus on listening to a lecturer after a while. Consequently, the students’ mind wanders and students’ learning rate decreases. But in the discussion-based classes, students are more attentive to what happened in the class and they maintain focus. They should stay focus on different tasks such as listening, speaking, thinking in shorter time-span so that they have higher concentrations on their tasks.

Finally, it is an indisputable fact that besides the positive effect of discussion-based class on students’ learning, having feedback from class is one of the benefits of this class for teachers. In other words, when students talk about the topics, teachers can recognize how well students understand the topic.

To put it briefly, all the enumerated reasons converge to the point that discussion-based classes benefit both students and teachers in various ways. I highly recommend that teachers should allow their students to participate in class discussions as possible as they can. After that, they can recognize how helpful it would be in their students’ learning process.